treaty-education

1. What will it take for you to feel confident in meeting the treaty education mandate?

I know that I do not know everything there is to know about any one topic, but I know that there is a lot of room to grow and learn when it comes to feeling confident in meeting the Treaty Education requirements. Therefore, I think that it will take a lot of practice and inquiry for me to feel confident. I will have to make time to learn more about Treaty Ed. and continue to be open to learning more about the Indigenous ways of knowing.

2. What barriers to teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit content and perspectives do you identify as being significant?

I believe that there will be some barriers when it comes down to teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit content and perspectives and they would probably be:

  • I am not as confident as I want to be to be able to teach this content
  • I think I still have lots to learn and will make mistakes along the way
  • I will get some things wrong and will feel like I have failed
  • I have a fear of accidentally being racist in front of my class
  • I have a fear of being called racist

3. In what ways are you a barrier to this work and incorporating this content?

I am a white Christian who may show bias on the content. I have the capability to be racist and judgemental, but I hope that I am able to present the truth without showing my bias.

4. Given the challenges that we have discussed in class, what will you do to prepare yourself to do this work?

I will try my best to teach myself more about Treaty Education and I will do my best to continue to attend Professional Development events that revolve around Treaty Education and reconciliation. I will also try my best to help others on their own journey’s when it comes to reconciliation. I want to be a support to others, so that they can unpack the truth and come to know how to rebuild positive relationships with the First Nations, Inuit and Métis people in Canada.

