trc-logo

Why should you read the TRC?

I believe that everyone in Canada should read the TRC because it is an important component of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. Its mandate is to inform all Canadians about what happened in Indian Residential Schools (IRS). The Commission has documented the truth of survivors, families, communities and anyone personally affected by the IRS experience, which includes First Nations, Inuit and Métis former Indian Residential School students, their families, communities, the Churches, former school employees, Government and other Canadians.

How will you read the TRC so that you can be changed by what you hear?

I have actually listened to part of the TRC already and I can say that it has challenged me to listen/read more of it. I know that the TRC is an important document and that listening to the emotion of others from Canada read its content has truly been an eye opening experience. I have already been changed by what I have listened to/read so far in the TRC and I can say that i have felt anger, sadness, and disappointment. I have felt these emotions because I truly believe that what happened in Residential Schools was utterly wrong. The TRC also gives me hope though – it gives me hope that the more Canadians who know the truth about Residential Schools will become more compassionate and do their best to work towards reconciliation and renew relationships that are based on mutual understanding and respect.

How will your reading of the TRC have an effect on your preparation and planning as a teacher?

After reading the TRC, I will have a better grasp on the true history of Residential Schools and I will have more ideas on how to help others come to know the truth as well. I also hope to help others on their own journey’s when it comes to reconciliation. I want to be a support to others, so that they can unpack the truth and come to know how to rebuild positive relationships with the First Nations, Inuit and Métis people in Canada.

