What I appreciated about today was that early in the morning before school started, someone in the staff room saw my classmate and I and asked, “Who are you filling in for or who are you for the day?” So when I told them that we were actually Pre-Interns they just smiled and said, “Oh, I see.” It made me laugh, but at the same time it made me feel honored that someone already thought that I was a substitute teacher at this school. It also seemed like my classmate and I already fit in and looked like teachers. 🙂

Today’s schedule was Day 5 and therefore, the schedule was a bit different than what I was used to, but it was still an overall great day.  Our co-op teacher was back from her holiday from Mexico, the students were back into the rhythm after a four day weekend, I got free chocolate cake at lunch, and there was an Oreo cookie sale at lunch. In the morning, we started with my classmate’s lesson on food chains and food webs. It was a fantastic lesson. I even joined in on the Kahoot activity for fun to see how much I was paying attention. One of my favorite quotes for the day was when one of the students asked, “Who is Miss G?” during the Kahoot game. Once I said that it was me, they said, “What? You’re not supposed to play!” I found this to be funny because I assumed that the only reason they were “upset” was because I beat their score in Kahoot. But just to let you know, I didn’t win first place, so it was not like I beat them in that sense.

After recess, I helped the grade 8’s with their math assignment. They were working on an assignment on multiplying fractions and they also did an “assessment” on multiplying and dividing fractions. Once I reminded myself how to multiply and divide fractions, I was able to help quite a few students before their assessment. I found it interesting that our teacher called it an assessment instead of a test, but I did like the name change because it did not seem as intimidating of a word.

After lunch, I taught my lesson on watersheds and Regina’s water system. I believe I did a pretty good job teaching the lesson, managing the class, and leading the group discussion. I focused on classroom management today as my target and I got a lot of good feedback from my classmate and co-op teacher. They said that the students responded well to my “if you hear me, clap once” technique and they were engaged throughout the lesson. I also started off the lesson very personally by saying that I would appreciate it if they all listened to my lesson. I also showed the students respect and asked for their respect by using a specific choice of words/language and actions/gestures. I was also very transparent in my lesson. I did this so that the students knew what was coming up next in my lesson. I think some of the best parts about my lesson where when we discussed as a class why we thought Wascana Lake was so polluted, and when we played the life sized “Lakes, Oceans, Rivers” game. I think the Brain Break game was awesome to get the students moving around in the classroom, thinking about watersheds, and laughing together. I don’t think I would change anything in my lesson this week because it seemed to run very smoothly and the students were very engaged. I hope this is the same for next week.

After my lesson, there were a few of us that got to bake cookies in the kitchen downstairs for the parent/teacher conferences this Friday (pictures above). I got the privilege to work with 5 of the girls from our class and bake cookies for their Friday bake sale. In the end, I didn’t really make the cookies, but I helped where needed, had fun, and built relationships with the students at the same time. I also got to taste some of the cookie dough and final cookies as well. In total, the girls probably made over 12 dozen cookies in less than an hour and a half. They made cracker jack cookies, chocolate chip cookies, and Oreo cookies that would later have cream cheese icing in them.

Now that the day is over, I feel that I have gained a little bit more respect from the students and for that, I am grateful. I am making little steps by building relationships with the students.

