science7_9aimsgoals

After looking into the Saskatchewan Science Curriculum, I have found that the Curriculum is asking me, as a science educator, to make sure that my students have an understanding of how the world works and how to develop their scientific literacy. For students to be able to develop their scientific literacy, I, as an educator, have to make sure that I am teaching my students about both the Euro-Canadian and Indigenous heritages, which have both developed an empirical and rational knowledge of nature. As an educator, I must be aware that a Euro-Canadian way of knowing about the natural and constructed world is called science, while the First Nations and Métis ways of knowing nature are found within the broader category of Indigenous knowledge. While discussing both of these ways of knowing, I must also provide my students with multiple opportunities to explore, analyze, evaluate, synthesize, appreciate, and understand the interrelationships among science, technology, society, and the environment that will affect their personal lives, their careers, and their future. While teaching the Science curriculum, I must also make sure that my students are able to: understand the nature of Science and STSE interrelationships; construct scientific knowledge; develop scientific and technological skills; and develop attitudes that support scientific habits of mind.

My overall hope for my classroom full of science students would be that they would be able to know and understand both sides of the ways of knowing (Euro-Canadian and First Nations/Métis) and that they would be able to make their own decisions and attitudes based on what they were learning in my class. My students would hopefully be able to construct an understanding of concepts, principles, laws, and theories in life science, in physical science, in earth and space science, and in Indigenous Knowledge of nature; and then apply these understandings to interpret, integrate, and extend their knowledge. In my classroom, I would weave Indigenous knowledge throughout my science lessons, so that there were connections being made between the two different ways of knowing. I would want to do this in an orderly way that made sense to my students.

In general, I think that it is important for a science educator to be knowledgeable on both the scientific and Indigenous perspectives on nature and how the world became to be so that they can skillfully relay the details to their students. Though, when I say skillfully, I mean in a way that students really want to learn science. According to Goldenburg (2011), students really want meaningful activities that have active learning in their Science classes. Science students are also most engaged and motivated by hands-on activities, group work, and discussions, therefore they value meaningful activities and want more active learning. Students also found it helpful to see an animation instead of learning only from words, static images, or a teacher’s voice when it came to understanding abstract, difficult-to-grasp concepts. Therefore, I would want to craft lesson plans that engaged my students with visuals and hands on learning. I would also help them develop their scientific and technological inquiry, problem solving, and communication skills by assigning them group work that made them collaboratively work together as a team to make decisions and solve everyday problems that involve knowledge about Science.

