science-03

Why should all students learn science? What does this entail? What are some tensions that exist, or questions that you have, about the purposes of science education? Articulate a personalized view of scientific literacy. What is most important to you and why?

First of all, Science is “the study of the natural world based on facts learned through experiments and observation” (Webster). Therefore, I think that Science is a very important subject and needs to be taught in all classrooms. In general, there are many benefits for having Science taught in our classrooms and it is important for all students to learn about because it is important that students are able to gain understanding of our natural world and everything in it, so that they can function in society. Since humans are constantly interacting with our natural world by interacting with the nature around us and the people within it, it is important that all students learn about Science. If humans are constantly interacting with the world around us, we should have a good understanding of how things work by making observations and even experiments to find deeper understanding of our world. I see Science as a way of exploring, investigating, testing and experimenting to learn more about the compositions, interactions, and reactions that occur in our every day lives, so I believe that Science is needed in the classroom.

Second of all, in my experience, I found Science education to be very interesting and enjoyable at school. I have always been interested in “how” and “why” things work the way they do. I have also been fascinated by our world in such a way that I entertain myself by exploring and running experiments. When I was in high school I remember watching Bill Nye the Science Guy in Physics class and I loved watching his crazy experiments and seeing his passion for science. It definitely was an encouragement for me to be involved and interested in science and that was what encouraged me to practice my own experiments at home. As I look back at my past school experiences, I found that my teachers were always excited about science and I think that excitement and passion about Science was what made me excited to learn more about it. Though, I never really saw myself as being a scientist, I knew that anyone could be one. I had many female and male science teachers who were all very knowledgeable and passionate about their work and therefore, I never saw males as being the only ones able to be scientists. I realize now that female scientists were not very well represented in the media.

Third of all, as a future educator, my hope would be to help my students become familiar with scientific language. I would hope that my students would be comfortable talking about science and explaining their experiments and procedures to other students. If a student were to be fluent in scientific literacy, they would be able to articulate their exact steps in their own experiments with others. They would also improve their ability to solve everyday problems and gain a greater understanding of – different perspectives, opinions, and procedures, problem solving methods, our environment, our world’s dynamics, and global politics.

