water_pie_web.jpg

As I reflect on my Watershed Action Learning Project, I realize that I have grown in so many ways. So for my project I pledged to take shorter showers because I used to take 15-20 minute showers by washing my face and also shaving my legs while in the shower. After I found out that a 5 minute shower can use around 25-50 gallons of water, I felt like I really needed to cut down my water usage. I also found that you can buy different shower heads with different flow rates, so when I get my own apartment or house, I plan on using shower heads and faucets that have a flow rate of less than 2.5 gpm (gallons per minute). I also found from talking casually to people at the Luther College Dorm, that a lot of people really have no idea how much water they use or where it comes from. I really think that people need to know that using too much water is really a part of an ecological crisis and that we must be aware of our usage every day. Most people assume that using too much water is not a big deal, but I think that it really is. Using too much water is actually using up a lot more energy than necessary.

As I was researching about water for this project, I have become more aware of where Regina gets their water from, what watershed Regina Saskatchewan is a part of, the process our water goes through to be drinkable, where our water goes, and how much water I actually use. Throughout this active learning experience, I have learned a lot because I tend to learn things better by actually doing. As a future environmental educator,  I think that it is important for students to be aware of how much water they are using and where their water comes from. In my action learning project, I learned through the different discourses that the people in  Regina uses on average 75, 000 liters of water per day. So I am realizing that we use a lot of water. Also, I have learned that I take too long of showers because on average a 5 minute shower uses 25-50 gallons of water.

I also believe that since I have been very blessed with the accessibility to clean water, I have in some ways taken advantage of it. I have been privileged to with enough money to provide myself with water and it has in some ways made me a bit ignorant because it has always been something that has been easily accessible to me. I have realized that not everyone has the same privilege as me in the world and teaching this to my students would be a good life lesson for them to learn. I think that just because we have an abundance of water that is accessible, does not mean that we can use as much as we want whenever we want. We still need to consider the amount of energy that it takes to clean the water and the energy it takes to get our water from Buffalo Pond Lake. If I were planning a micro unit from my classroom, I would make sure that I would get the students to explore and find out ways in which they could conserve their water in their homes and even in our classroom. If we also took a tour of the Buffalo Pound Water Treatment Plant the students could learn more ways that they could conserve water, learn about  the history behind the lake, land or watershed, and the Aboriginal culture, views or beliefs on water. This would confirm to them about the Aboriginal’s connection to water and overall this tour would hopefully help the students to grow in their ecoliteracy. Then maybe this would lead the students to ecophilia and they would have a new found passion to save their water and use it in different ways while conserving it.

Below you will see a poster I made to promote everyone to conserve water.

Conserve Your Water Drawing

 

